Caffi V @ Gwledd Conwy Feast 2014

IMG_3879.JPG

IMG_3880.JPG
I’ve just returned from spending a relaxing weekend in my native North Wales, the first time I’ve been back there since becoming vegan. Growing up a vegetarian, I never considered it to be the most progressive of areas in terms of food and meal options for me were somewhat thin on the ground when eating out. So this weekend I never imagined that I’d be taken somewhere I’d be able to gorge on a load of vegan food!

My brother and sister-in-law took me to a food festival in Conwy, a walled market town along the North Wales coast. Situated in the grounds of a B&B, against the backdrop of the castle, was Caffi V, a volunteer-led vegan cafe serving up a range of plant-based, ethical foods. The beauty of this organisation is that their food was actually FREE; donations were all that were requested!

IMG_3864.JPG

IMG_3863.JPG

IMG_3862.JPG

IMG_3865.JPG

IMG_3869.JPG

IMG_3868.JPG

IMG_3870.JPG
First of all, I virtually inhaled this delicious plate of vegetable korma and rice; it barely touched the sides!

IMG_3871.JPG
The group had even created a clay wood-fired oven in which they cooked their vegan pizzas. Despite having just eaten a curry, I couldn’t possibly leave without having sampled some pizza!

IMG_3876.JPG
Cashews and tapioca were blended to create the creamy, cheese-like topping, a refreshing change to soya cheese.

Great food, atmosphere and scenery made for a lovely afternoon. I might just have to start visiting the homeland more often now!

IMG_3882.JPG

http://www.conwyfeast.com/feast-fringe/

https://m.facebook.com/CaffiVegan?_rdr

Leave a Reply

