Spinach & Lentil Harissa Burgers

Served with rosemary-infused sweet potato chips.

IMG_3768.JPG
I had my best friend round for dinner last night and gave her some options as to what we could eat. She chose the burger and chips option so I took the opportunity to throw together a new recipe (any excuse)!

When I’ve made nut roasts before, I’ve found that blending lentils has always created a moist roast that naturally binds itself together so decided to to use lentils as the main component of the burgers. The spinach adds another level of texture and colour, whilst the harissa packs a punch of flavour.

As I’d never made these burgers before and was completely improvising, I did endure a near cooking catastrophe. I’d envisioned shallow frying the burgers but once added to the oil, they just formed a gloopy mess! Luckily, this happened with only a small sample of the burger mixture. I ended up cooking them in the oven instead and all was fine and dandy.

INGREDIENTS (8 burgers approx)
•300g red lentils, boiled and drained
•1 tbsp oil
•1 onion, finely chopped
•3 cloves of garlic, crushed
•100g fresh spinach
•3tsps ground cumin
•1/2 tsp tumeric
•1 tbsp harissa paste
•juice of 1/2 a lemon
•A handful of fresh coriander, chopped
•Salt and pepper to season
•A small cup of plain flour

METHOD
1) Heat the oven to 180c. Heat the oil and gently sauté the onion and garlic for 2 minutes. Add the boiled lentils, followed by the spinach, stirring until it begins to wilt.
2) Add the cumin, tumeric, harissa paste, lemon juice and coriander, mixing until it resembles a very thick paste. Remove from the heat and season.
3) Stir in the flour and use your hands to mould the mix into burger shapes, adding more flour if necessary. Place on a baking tray and cook for 15 minutes on each side. Leave to stand for 10-15 minutes before serving.

For the chips, I peeled and chopped sweet potatoes into chunks and very lightly coated in olive oil. I then spread the chips out on a baking tray and sprinkled on generous portions of salt and black pepper, as well as a few sprigs of fresh rosemary.

I cooked in the oven for 15 minutes, turned and cooked for a further 10 minutes, removing the rosemary before serving.

I placed the burgers in buns, added some vegan mayo and enjoyed! My meat-eating friend praised the burgers as well so I highly recommend these for a comforting weekend treat!

IMG_3767.JPG

3 thoughts on “Spinach & Lentil Harissa Burgers

  1. Pingback: Mushroom & Red Onion Jam Filo Parcels | Veggie Me Happy

Leave a Reply

