Mildreds, Soho

20131017-195441.jpg

Whenever it’s my birthday or another special occasion, I always choose to go to my favourite vegetarian restaurant in London-the wonderful Mildred’s. Situated on Soho’s Lexington Street, Mildred’s offers a range of vegetarian and vegan dishes at reasonable prices, as well as plenty of vegan vinos. As I turned twenty-something earlier this week, there was only one place I wanted to celebrate!

Mildred’s do not take table reservations so if you venture here at the weekend, prepare to wait a little while for a table. This is not too much of an inconvenience as you can enjoy a cocktail in the small bar area. As it was a Monday night when I went to Mildred’s, I expected the restaurant to be almost empty. How wrong I was! Whilst we did get a table almost immediately, the small restaurant was still bustling, which speaks volumes about its popularity!

As ever with visiting vegetarian restaurants, deliberating over the menu can be a lengthy process as I relish the possibility of eating everything on the menu. Eventually, I opted for the deep fried chinese dumplings tossed in ginger, garlic, chilli with kim chi whilst my boyfriend chose gyoza dumplings with mirin and soy dipping sauce.

20131017-185903.jpg

20131017-185918.jpg
For my main, I chose a dish that I’d had before-sri iankan sweet potato and cashew nut curry served with yellow basmati rice with peas and coconut tomato sambal.

20131017-190123.jpg
I loved the flavours in this curry and it didn’t feel heavy and greasy like curries in many restaurants tend to be. Ever a lover of burger and chips, my boyfriend inevitably opted for the veggie burger with relish, red onion, rocket and tomato, with fries and basil mayo
plus monterey jack cheese and sweet potato chips.

20131017-194901.jpg

Whatever your food preferences may be, I’d strongly recommend a visit to this lively vegetarian/vegan restaurant. I’m already excited about my next visit!

45 Lexington Street,
London,
W1F 9AN

020 7494 1634
http://www.mildreds.co.uk/index.html

One thought on “Mildreds, Soho

  1. Pingback: The Gate Islington | Veggie Me Happy

Leave a Reply

