Soup-er Sundays

20130916-072838.jpg

My soup eating habits have changed drastically over the past few years. I used to find a simple can of Heinz tomato soup the most comforting thing in the world. I then came to understand the high levels of sugar and salt contained within a can so I decided to switch to the fresh tubs of soup instead. I even trained myself to not need bread with my soup, in order to save on my calorie and carb intake. I loved the convenience of those tubs and one tub would provide me with lunch for two days.

However, after gaining a blender at the start of the year I thought it would make sense to start making my own soups. After all, what could be more liberating than being in control of exactly what I put into my food?! As I work long hours, I don’t have the time or energy to be preparing my lunch in the evenings. Hence why my Sundays have become dominated by cooking up HUGE batches of soup to last me the week.

I experiment with my own soup recipes and keep them as low calorie and low carb as possible. So no white potato and no cream for me. My recent soup endeavours have included tomato and basil, curried sweet potato, roasted red pepper and lentil, and yesterday’s batch; carrot and coriander.

Now yesterday I was a tad hungover. I was really not in the mood to spend a long time making soup when all I really wanted to do was to doze off during Come Dine With Me repeats. So I cut a few corners with this carrot and coriander soup recipe but nevertheless, it still tasted delicious and comforting. I would normally use an onion when soup making but I forgot to get one from the shop and really couldn’t face going out again in the rain!

INGREDIENTS (makes 5-6 portions)
•2 stocks cubes with around 8 cups of water in a very large pan
• 800g carrots, peeled and chopped
•2 garlic cloves, crushed
•A pinch of paprika
•A pinch of black pepper
•A couple of handfuls of fresh coriander, roughly chopped

METHOD
1) Boil the carrots along with the garlic, paprika and pepper in a large pan for around 20 minutes.
2) Transfer to a blender and cook in batches. Add some of the coriander to each batch and pour each batch into a large tub so all the ingredients mix together.

And that’s it! 30 minutes of cooking and I now have healthy lunches to last the whole week. I need to get thinking about which type of soup to make next Sunday…

20130916-072757.jpg

20130916-072817.jpg

2 thoughts on “Soup-er Sundays

  1. Pingback: Chill-Chasing Fall Soups | jovinacooksitalian

  2. Pingback: Super Fast Healthy Lunch | Sup's Good Food Blog

Leave a Reply

