Quick, easy and a little bit cheesy!

20130914-094934.jpg

There’s something about this time of year that almost makes me want to go into hibernation mode. The temperature plummets, the rain pours down, the nights draw in…all I really feel like doing is curling up in my warm flat with a good book and lots of hearty comfort food of the vegetarian variety! Which leads me to my inspiration for my latest concoction; tagliatelle in a goats cheese sauce with olives and sun-dried tomatoes.

I was tired after work and soaked through after getting caught in the rain without an umbrella for the umpteenth time. I wanted a dish that was minimum effort but maximum taste. I recalled a dish similar to this in an Italian restaurant I used to frequent when I lived in Liverpool called The Quarter , which is where I got the idea from.

This only took about 15 minutes to prepare and cook, making one large portion or two smaller portions.

INGREDIENTS
•250g tagliatelle
•2tbs olive oil
•1 clove of garlic, crushed
•100g soft goats cheese
•100ml single cream
•Around 8-10 black pitted olives
•4 large sun-dried tomatoes, roughly chopped
•Black pepper and a couple of basil leaves to season and garnish

METHOD
1) Boil the tagliatelle, drain and set aside.
2) Heat the oil in a pan and gently sizzle the garlic for 2 minutes.
3) Crumble the goats cheese and add to the pan then stir in the cream. Stir until the cheese has melted into the cream, creating a thick sauce.
4) Add the olives and tomatoes then stir in the tagliatelle.
5) Season with black pepper then add the basil leaves to garnish.

Comfort food heaven!

20130914-094918.jpg

Leave a Reply

