Courgette & Tomato Linguine

20130902-205410.jpg

I love courgettes. Curries, casseroles, pizza, pasta, salad, roasts…These versatile greens can be added to just about any meal. So you can imagine my delight when my colleague, Sarah, offered to bring me some courgettes that her mother-in-law, Judith, had grown in her garden!

20130902-201402.jpg

20130902-201341.jpg
As I was having a quiet Saturday night in front of the television with my boyfriend and best friend, I thought I’d use the courgettes in a hearty pasta-based dish. I referred to a tried and tested recipe from The BBC Good Food website which never fails to please! The sauce is based on a classic Italian tomato and bacon sauce, amatriciana. I used a ham substitute from The Shoreditch Grocery which gave the dish a slight smoky flavour and added a creaminess to the texture. The recipe below made enough for 3 very large portions.

INGREDIENTS
2 tbs olive oil, plus extra to serve
120g vegetarian ham, roughly chopped
4 medium sized courgettes chopped into chunks
2 garlic cloves, crushed
A pinch of dried chilli flakes
A pinch of caster sugar
1 tbs red wine vinegar
2 cans of good quality plum tomatoes (I like to use Tesco finest canned cherry toms)
500g linguine
A handful of fresh parsley, chopped

20130902-203545.jpg

20130902-203626.jpg
METHOD
1) Heat the oil in a large pan and gently sizzle the vegetarian ham. Add the courgettes, sizzling for 4 minutes until golden.

20130902-203852.jpg
2) Add the chilli and sugar then stir in the red wine vinegar. Pour in the canned tomatoes, season with salt and pepper, turn up the heat and cook for 10 minutes.
3) While the sauce is simmering, cook the linguine and drain. Toss the pasta through the sauce, stirring through a drizzle of olive oil and parsley.

20130902-204344.jpg
I served this with a few shavings of vegetarian hard cheese and lots of garlic bread. There was most definitely no room for dessert!

20130902-204822.jpg
So I have to say a big thank you to Judith for the delicious courgettes! I’d love to grow my own but as I live in a ground floor flat on a busy road, I don’t think that’s going to be happening anytime soon. Best get saving for somewhere with a garden…!

One thought on “Courgette & Tomato Linguine

  1. Pingback: The Chilli Diaries #2: spicy butternut squash & courgette curry | Veggie Me Happy

Leave a Reply

