The Shoreditch Grocery

20130831-144931.jpg

Always on the look out for places to buy varied vegetarian and health foods, I was delighted to stumble upon The Grocery on Kingsland Road a while back. This is a large and spacious store which sells a wide range of organic and fair trade foods, as well as plenty of vegetarian and vegan substitutes. I came across types of food that I hadn’t encountered before and ended up perusing the aisles for a good 45 minutes before I actually bought anything. Here’s a few things that looked particularly appealing to me…

Different brands of tofu, including ready marinated variations

20130831-141832.jpg

Vegetarian chorizo! Something I’d never encountered before…

20130831-142050.jpg

A selection of kale chips

20130831-142245.jpg

A huge selection of whole wheat and spelt pasta, including tofu-filled whole wheat tortellini! I was particularly impressed with this; I tend to eat a lot of pasta and often opt for the whole wheat variety for the health benefits. However, selections are usually extremely limited in standard supermarkets.

20130831-142908.jpg

I found the olive tubs to be really reasonably priced at approximately £1.75 and the variety included pitted, Mexican, chilli and barbeque marinated.

20130831-143217.jpg

The Grocery also have a selection of teapots and ceramics for sale!

20130831-143346.jpg

At the back of the store there is even a cafe which has a brilliant food menu. Unfortunately, as I took so long deciding what food to buy I ran out of time but will definitely pop in next time I go shopping at The Grocery!

So what did I eventually buy?

20130831-143701.jpg

Some vegetarian cheeses, freshly baked bread, vegetarian ham (which Ill be using to cook tonight), whole wheat conchiglie pasta, olives and tempeh. This is a fermented soy product which is chewier and more flavoursome than tofu. I first tasted it in Bali and have subsequently found it difficult to buy. I’ll be using it in my attempt at a Balinese curry later on this week.

20130831-144414.jpg

So whether you want a change to the standard supermarkets or just fancy sampling some alternative food, The Grocery in Shoreditch is well worth a visit!

54-56 Kingsland Road
London
E2 8DP
http://thegroceryshop.co.uk/home.html

2 thoughts on “The Shoreditch Grocery

  1. Pingback: The problem with pesto… | Veggie Me Happy

  2. Pingback: The Chilli Diaries #1: Balinese tempeh curry | Veggie Me Happy

Leave a Reply

