Lemon grilled tofu with mixed bean salad

20130807-120328.jpg

Another tasty tofu experiment!

Over the years, I’ve fought many a losing battle with tofu. I haven’t drained it sufficiently. It doesn’t retain flavour. It crumbles completely as soon as I add it to a dish. However, in recent months I feel like I’ve conquered my tofu demons and am now I able to prepare it just to my liking!

So what was the inspiration behind my latest concoction? Fish. No, I don’t eat fish in any way, shape or form. Nor have I done so in a very long time. But the idea for this recipe came to me from watching salmon being prepared on a bed of mixed beans on one of the daytime TV shows. I realised how simple it could be to do something similar with tofu for a healthy lunch…

The key to preparing the perfect tofu (in my opinion) is to just have the patience to drain it as much as possible! Wrap it in wads of kitchen roll. Place something heavy on top. Change the kitchen roll. Doing this for around 20-30 minutes will prevent it from disintegrating as soon as you touch it. Making a good oily sauce to grill it in will also help it to stay firm and add a bit of flavour. The ingredients I used made enough for three portions.

FOR THE SAUCE
1 tsp olive oil
3tbs soy sauce-ensure it displays the ‘v’ symbol before you use it!
1 clove of garlic, crushed
1/2 red chilli, chopped finely
2 tsp fresh lemon juice

1 block of tofu cut into 3 “fillets” like this:

20130807-115003.jpg

FOR THE SALAD
3 small cans of beans- I used barlotti, cannellini and kidney beans
1 red onion, finely chopped
1/4 cucumber, finely chopped
5 tbs balsamic vinegar

For a creamy dip, mix 3 tbs of creme fraiche with 3tsp chopped coriander

METHOD
1) Mix the sauce ingredients together and cover the tofu “fillets” entirely.
2) Place the tofu under the grill and cook for around 10 minutes on each side or until firm and golden.
3) Mix the beans with the red onion, cucumber and balsamic vinegar.
4) Place 1/3 of the bean salad on a plate and place one of the lemon grilled tofu fillets on top.
5) Serve with 1/3 of the creamy dip and a piece of lemon to garnish.

Refrigerate the remaining portions and that’s lunch sorted for the next couple of days. See, who needs fish when you can have tofu?!!

20130807-120349.jpg

Leave a Reply

