A saunter through Soho…

20130805-200544.jpg

20130805-200349.jpg

Do I have too much time on my hands at the moment? Possibly. Actually, more than likely. Nonetheless, I’m not going to deny the fact that I’m absolutely loving having a relaxing few weeks off work. Plenty of opportunities to read, explore London and to cook of course!

I had a few items of clothing that I really needed to buy so today I found myself on Oxford Street. I know, I must be mad. I hadn’t even bought anything before the chaotic crowds and painfully slow walkers became far too much for me and I found myself diverting down the nearest street away from craziness.

I ended up wandering down Berwick Street in Soho and what a change of pace! It’s a comparatively quiet street filled with vintage and accessory shops, cafes, coffee places and fruit and veg market stalls. Luckily for me, I even stumbled upon a vegetarian eatery called ‘Beatroot’. It’s not your usual style of cafe; food is served in a canteen-like manner whereby you pay for a small or large box and can choose which selection of food to fill it with. There are many choices of hot and cold dishes to choose from.

I opted for a small box (£3.50) and had it filled with spinach and tomato tart, a feta and courgette salad, as well as a mixed bean salad. Beatroot also provide a decent smoothie and juice selection which are reasonably sized. I had a banana and berry mix. I sat on one of the outdoor tables and it was lovely relaxing with my book and watching the world go by. At a total cost of £8, it wasn’t the cheapest of lunches but was worth it just to escape the Oxford Street chaos!

Two chapters and a full tummy later, I headed back up to Oxford Street to carry on with my shopping. It wasn’t long before the heavens opened and I had to make a decision. To stay or go? I did not have an umbrella. I was not appropriately dressed for such rainy conditions. Most of all, have you ever tried walking along Oxford Street when crowds of tourists are armed with brollies?! It’s just dangerous! I therefore jumped on the nearest bus and headed back home. Another productive day!

Beatroot
92 Berwick Street
Soho
London
W1 0QD

www.beatroot.org.uk

20130805-200225.jpg

20130805-200247.jpg

Leave a Reply

