My favourite vegetarian cookbook!

20130728-165239.jpg

These days, I generally prefer to experiment with my own ingredients and recipes as I sometimes feel restricted when following the recipes of others. However, when I find myself struggling for ideas there is one book I often turn to for inspiration; ‘River Cottage Veg Everyday’ by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall.

This book was a present from my brother and I hadn’t actually seen the Channel 4 cooking show at the time of receiving the book. As soon as I looked through it I became excited by the vast range of curries, casseroles, risottos and pasta dishes.

What I love about this book is how versatile the recipes are and how they can be adapted to suit personal tastes. For instance, when I first made the dhal (p238), I did find it a tiny bit bland so I added a dash of garam masala and stirred in a stock cube for added flavour.

Even my meat-loving boyfriend has used this cookbook, making us a peppery/egg dish called chachouka for breakfast (p20). Some other favourites from the book include a squash and chickpea stew (p30), kale and mushroom lasagne (p34) and a tomato and mozzarella risotto (p272).

The book is currently half price on Amazon so definitely worth a purchase in my opinion!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/1408812126/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1375029648&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX110_SY190

Leave a Reply

